helping handWelcome to 2014! It’s the start of another year, and who knows what new threats, viruses and Botnets will be uncovered in the coming months? The good news is that whereas the ingenuity of hackers may keep us guessing, the basic attack vector has not changed: their focus is to exploit weaknesses in network security created by software with known vulnerabilities. Which means that the most effective way for any IT administrator to protect his network continues to be the same: patch, patch, and patch! Network security still begins with patch management!

The bad news, however, is that as malware gets more complicated, and hackers peer together – even selling their malware-as-a service so junior hackers can join the hacking game with very little expertise – it’s becoming increasingly more complicated for those defending the fort to keep those relying on them protected and secure. It’s not just the complexity of the attacks they face – it’s the speed with which they have to react, and the sheer scale of the workload they face, in order to stay on top of things. As networks grow and the number of applications colleagues use increases, keeping software current, patched and up-to-date has, for some, become an almost impossible task. And for those who still have the time and resource to do it, at best it’s a time consuming, repetitive task which never ends.

If only there was a solution!

(Can anyone guess what comes next?)

Thankfully there is, and the magic word is ‘automated’. By finding a solution that helps automate the repetitive aspects of patch management, not only do you make your life simpler (more enjoyable and less stressful!), but it makes patch management effective and achievable -and thus help keep your data, assets and network secure.

To learn more about this topic, and a solution that can help you automate patch management, why not join us for a live webcast on Tuesday, January 28, at 5PM GMT/6PM CET – US 9am PST/12PM EST ?

The presenter is Frank J. Ohlhorst, author, analyst, journalist and IT consultant.

RegisterNow

In addition, you may want to visit our microsite: http://www.languard.com